Young receives two shot PGA penalty for playing from wrong spot

Photo of author

American Cameron Young was handed a two-stroke penalty for playing the ball from the wrong position the second of the Championship at Oak .

World No. 15 Cameron Young was handed a two-stroke penalty in the second round of the PGA Championship on Friday after he tapped-in from the wrong spot.

The 26-year-old American, last year's British Open runner-up, made a ball-marking blunder on the 16th green at Oak Hill while playing with Japan's Hideki Matsuyama and 's Tommy Fleetwood.

Young, the 2022 PGA Tour Rookie of the Year, finished tied for second at the WGC Match Play in March, his sixth career runner-up finish in his quest for a first PGA .

Young, who started on the back nine, holed a birdie putt from inside 60 feet from the hole two and marked his ball.

But because the ball marker was in the line of play of both his playing partners, Young moved the marker one clubhead's length to the side.

After Matsuyama and Fleetwood were done, Young did not move the marker back to the original position.

When Young changed and tapped his ball, he played from the wrong spot, thus incurring a two-stroke penalty and hitting a double bogey six instead of par on the hole, the PGA Championship Rules Committee said in a statement.