Friday, December 8, 2023
HomeSportsShohei Ohtani, Ronald Acuña Jr. lead Silver Slugger winners, whilst Rangers and...

Shohei Ohtani, Ronald Acuña Jr. lead Silver Slugger winners, whilst Rangers and Braves take inaugural workforce awards

HOUSTON, TX - OCTOBER 15:   Corey Seager #5 and Marcus Semien #2 of the Texas Rangers prepare to bat in the first inning during during Game 1 of the ALCS between the Texas Rangers and the Houston Astros at Minute Maid Park on Sunday, October 15, 2023 in Houston, Texas. (Photo by Daniel Shirey/MLB Photos via Getty Images)

MLB known the end offensive avid gamers at each and every place on Wednesday with the yearly Silver Slugger awards, a bunch unsurprisingly led through MVP favorites Shohei Ohtani and Ronald Acuña Jr.

Mookie Betts, Juan Soto, Julio Rodríguez and Luis Arráez have been the one avid gamers to look repeat wins. With regards to Soto, the San Diego Padres superstar tied Mike Trout for probably the most Silver Sluggers sooner than turning 25 together with his fourth win, in step with’s Sarah Langs.

Probably the most aggressive race would were first base within the Nationwide League, the place Freddie Freeman of the Los Angeles Dodgers and Matt Olson of the Atlanta Braves have been each main MVP applicants. Freeman had the awesome numbers when it got here to natural hitting, together with an MLB-leading 59 doubles, whilst Olson led MLB in house runs and RBI.

In any case, the Silver Slugger electorate (made up of MLB managers and coaches) voted for the lengthy ball with Olson.

This yr’s version of the Silver Sluggers noticed the advent of a workforce class, spotting the most efficient offensive groups in each and every league. The inaugural winners have been the Atlanta Braves and Texas Rangers, who have been, no longer coincidentally, the top-scoring groups in their respective leagues.

This is the total checklist of winners:

American League Silver Slugger winners

1B: Yandy Díaz, Tampa Bay Rays
2B: Marcus Semien, Texas Rangers
SS: Corey Seager, Texas Rangers
3B: Rafael Devers, Boston Pink Sox
OF: Kyle Tucker, Houston Astros
OF: Julio Rodríguez, Seattle Mariners
OF: Luis Robert Jr., Chicago White Sox
C: Adley Rutschman, Baltimore Orioles
DH: Shohei Ohtani, Los Angeles Angels
Application: Gunnar Henderson, Baltimore Orioles
Crew: Texas Rangers

Nationwide League Silver Slugger winners

1B: Matt Olson, Atlanta Braves
2B: Luis Arráez, Miami Marlins
SS: Francisco Lindor, New York Mets
3B: Austin Riley, Atlanta Braves
OF: Ronald Acuña Jr., Atlanta Braves
OF: Mookie Betts, Los Angeles Dodgers
OF: Juan Soto, San Diego Padres
C: William Conteras, Milwaukee Brewers
DH: Bryce Harper, Philadelphia Phillies
Application: Cody Bellinger, Chicago Cubs
Crew: Atlanta Braves

You’ll learn the total checklist of the Silver Sluggers’ defensive counterpart, the Gold Gloves, right here. No participant gained each awards on the identical place.

MLB will hand out its main awards subsequent week, with the Rookie of the 12 months on Monday, Supervisor of the 12 months on Tuesday, Cy Younger on Wednesday and MVP on Thursday. All awards might be introduced at 6 p.m. ET.


Most Popular