NCAA tournament records: Who has won the most championships, made the most final fours and more for women’s basketball

Photo of author

Here are some of the records set in the NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament since its inception in 1982:

Which school has won the most NCAA women’s tournament championships?

UConn has won 11 NCAA women’s basketball championships. Tennessee (eight), Baylor and Stanford (three) and Louisiana Tech, Notre Dame, South Carolina and USC (two unranked) are behind the Huskies.

[Free bracket contests for men’s & women’s tourneys for shot at $25K]

Which school has appeared in the most NCAA Tournaments?

Tennessee has qualified for every NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament, making 41 appearances. The Lady Vols are followed by Georgia and Stanford (36 each), Texas (35) and UConn (34).

Which school has made the most Final Four appearances?

UConn has made 22 women’s Final Fours, winning 11 of them. The Huskies are followed by Tennessee (18), Stanford (15), Louisiana Tech (10) and Notre Dame (nine).

Connecticut center Stephanie Dolson and UConn defeated Notre Dame for the Huskies’ ninth national championship in 2014, surpassing rival Tennessee’s total of eight. (AP Photo/John Bazemore)

Which coach has won the most NCAA women’s basketball tournament championships?

Geno Auriemma has led UConn all 11 championships, setting the record. Summitt of Tennessee is second with eight titles. Kim Mulkey had three wins at Baylor, tying her with Stanford’s Tara Vandeveer. Dawn Staley has won two championships for South Carolina, tying her with former USC coach Linda Sharp and former Notre Dame coach Muffet McGraw.

How many times has the No. 1 seed won the NCAA Women’s Tournament?

The No. 1 seed has won the NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament 31 out of 40 times. The No. 2 seed has won it seven times.

See also  Pitch clock violation costs Braves walk-off walk

What is the lowest seed win the national championship?

The No. 3 seed is the least win the NCAA Women’s Tournament, which has happened twice: North Carolina in 1994 and Tennessee in 1997.

Which is the lowest seed advance to the Final Four?

The No. 9 seed is the lowest seed in the women’s Final Four since Arkansas achieved it in 1998.

Who has scored the most points in a single NCAA tournament game?

Drake’s Laurie Bauman scored 50 points in the Elite Eight of the first women’s tournament in 1982, a record that has stood ever since.