Microsoft investigating Groups and Outlook outages as 1000’s of customers document problems

Photo of author


The Microsoft logo is seen at the Microsoft store in City.

Mike Segar | Reuters

Microsoft said it is investigating issues with several of its products, including Teams and Outlook.

The U.S. technology giant said that users may not be able to access multiple Microsoft 365 services.

“We’ve identified a potential networking issue and are reviewing telemetry to determine the next troubleshooting steps,” the company said.

Downdetector, a service where people can log problems and outages with websites and apps, saw a spike in users reporting issues with Microsoft products, including Outlook, Teams and the company’s cloud product Azure, at around 3 a.m. ET.

Microsoft said that at around 7:05 UTC — 2:05 ET — customers may “experience issues with networking connectivity, manifesting as network latency and/or timeouts when attempting to connect to Azure resources in multiple regions, as well as other Microsoft services.”

The company updated on Twitter at 9:26 GMT — 4:26 ET — that it has “rolled back a network change that we believe is causing impact. We’re monitoring the service as the rollback takes effect.”

The Microsoft outage comes just hours after it reported better-than-expected earnings for the -December quarter. But the company saw a slowdown in revenue from cloud computing products, including Azure, and gave gloomy guidance for the current quarter.