Chris Stapleton, Lanny Wilson, Hardy and More Record-Setters at the 2023 ACM Awards

Photo of author

chris stapleton Won Entertainer of the Year for the 58th time for the first time academy of country music awards, which were presented on Thursday (May 11) at Starr's Ford Center in Frisco, Texas. Garth Brooks and Dolly Parton – both previous ACM Entertainer of the Year winners – co-hosted the show.

This was Stapleton's fifth nomination in the category. The award comes seven years after he won New Male Artist of the Year. Stapleton is a three-time winner for Male Artist of the Year, which means he qualifies for another award, which the ACM calls it “triple Crown.”

more than billboard


Lainey Wilson and Hardy

Lainey Wilson and Hardy

Here Are All the 2023 ACM Award Winners


Daring And lanny wilson The top winners at the 2023 ACMs, each with four awards, were cole swindell with three awards ashley gorley with two.

Hardy won two awards (as artist and co-producer) for the music festival of the year for his collab “Wet in the Truck” with Wilson. Hardy and Wilson also won Visual Media of the Year for that hit. Hardy, who won Songwriter of the Year last year, won in the New Artist-Songwriter of the Year category this year.

In addition to the two awards he shared with Hardy, Wilson won two other awards. His bell bottom country won Album of the Year. It is the first album by a female artist in this category since Kacey Musgraves. Golden hour four years ago. The album was produced by Jay Joyce, who won the category 10 years earlier for producing Eric Church. President,

Wilson also won Female Artist of the Year for the first time, just a year after winning New Female Artist of the Year. This is the fastest climb from New Female Artist of the Year win to Female Artist of the Year win since it took Carrie Underwood a year to accomplish that climb 16 years earlier.

See also  Rapper Ice Cube reacts to Kanye West's anti-semitic antics, says 'don't blame me'

Swindell's “She Had Me at Her Head's Carolina” won awards for both Single and Song of the Year. It is the first work to win in both categories since “Tequila” by Dan + Shay four years earlier. The song contains lyrical and melodic references to Joe Di Messina's 1996 debut single “Heads Carolina, Tells ”, and credits that song's writers Mark D. Sanders and Tim Nichols as co-writers.

This contributed to “She Had Me at Her Head's Carolina”, setting a new record as the song of the year with the most credited writers (six). The previous record for four songwriters was jointly held on an ACM Song of the Year winner by “Need You Now,” written by three members of Lady A plus Josh Kear and “One Man Band” written by three members of Old Dominion. plus frequent collaborator Josh Osborne.

Messina joined Swindell to perform the song at the ACM Awards, as she did at the CMA Awards in November. Both artists have been closely watched by ACM voters for many years. Messina won the award for Top New Female Vocalist in 1998. Swindell won New Artist of the Year in 2014.

Zach Crowell produced “She Had Me at Her Head's Carolina”. This is his second solo award of the year. He also produced Sam Hunt's “Body Like a Back Road”, which had won five years earlier.

Morgan Wallen won the award for male performer for the first time. They won two awards last year – Album of the Year Dangerous: The Double Album and an ACM Milestone Award. The award marks a remarkable comeback from a career-threatening episode in which Wallen was videotaped using a racial slur. Country fans rallied behind him, not wanting to see a promising star canceled so early in his journey. Wallen, who was forced to cancel six weeks into the show on 9 May, on the advice of their Voice Doctor, was the only winner not present to accept.

See also  Chiranjeevi and Ram Charan's Acharya locks OTT premiere date, know when and the place to stream

Old Dominion won Group of the Year for the sixth year in a row. This is the longest streak of consecutive wins in the category since Rascal Flatts won seven consecutive years from 2002–08. Prior to this, Alabama had also won six straight years from 1980–85.

Gorley, who co-wrote three contenders for Song of the Year (including the winner, “She Had Met at Hades' Carolina”), won Songwriter of the Year for the first time. Gorli is only the third In ACM history, the songwriter is credited with writing on three of the nominee's songs in a single year. The first two were Merle Haggard in 1969 and Kris Kristofferson in 1971.

Zach Bryan and Hayley Whitters won the award for New Male and Female Artist of the Year, respectively. Bryan was eligible and entered for a Grammy nod for Best New Artist last year, but failed to be nominated.

The ACMs partnered with Prime Video in 2022 to make history as the first major awards ceremony to be exclusively livestreamed. For the 2023 event, the show again partnered with Prime Video on an exclusive global live stream. The full rerun will stream for free on FreeVee on Friday, May 12.

The ACM Awards are produced by Dick Clark Productions. DCP is owned by Penske Media Eldridge, a subsidiary of Penske Media Corporation (PMC) and a joint venture between PMC and Eldridge. PMC's parent company is Board,

best billboard


Click here to read the full article.